h1

25 Years of Samir Husni’s Guide to New Magazines and Still Counting…

June 21, 2010

As much as I try to avoid writing about personal stuff in this blog, however the gift I received from my kids (picture on the right) for Father’s Day yesterday forced this blog to be written.

25 years ago, in 1986, I published my first Samir Husni’s Guide to New Magazine listing the 234 new magazines that I was able to find and document in 1985. In few days the 25th Anniversary edition of the Guide will be out listing 704 new magazines that were first launched in 2009.

The Guide has been and continue to be a labor of love. The name came from my wife who suggested calling it Samir Husni’s Guide just in case I missed a magazine launch here or there. My kids, who accompanied me on many many trips to the newsstands and witnessed my love affair with magazines first hand, rewarded me on this 25th anniversary year of the Guide with a poster that they designed, scanned, printed and framed with all the 25 covers of the Guide.

And, so I will not think they are asking me to stop, they wrote on the poster, “25 Years of Success… and Still Counting.” They assured me that the “counting” is a “pun intended!” Thank you Marie for helping give birth to the Guide and thank you Diala, Laura and Afeef for the best Father’s Day gift yet. And for the thousands of publishers of new magazines, thank you for the first 25 years of new magazines and here’s to the next quarter century of new magazine launches… that is ink on paper new magazine launches. Cheers.

6 comments

  1. Congratulations! I’m a former student of yours, and I remember looking through one of the issues of your Guide when I was in your magazine service journalism courses at Ole Miss. I still have a copy, actually. Once again, congrats on 25 years of introducing readers to new magazines!


    • Thank you and so good to hear from you. All the best.


  2. Hello Dr. Husni,
    We have met through the years at the FMA and when I was at Morris, Where and Orlando magazine. I’m now the Circulation Director for Golfweek. I always enjoyed your seminars regarding the year’s new publications. It still is amazing to me what kind of magazines are produced. I love the industry though so it is always great to see magazines of any kind being published. Look forward to your thoughts on the next 25 years!


  3. Congratulations on 25 years of helping magazine writers everywhere. I have added your blog to my list of “Breaking News” sources for that feature on the web site for the American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA).

    Keep on counting! We all need the encouragement and we all appreciate your efforts.


  4. hi there
    I’ve been following you for a while now, especially when I lived in the U.S. It’s great for the mag industry to have its Mr. Magazine, especially these days.
    I guess you inspired my blog about the intl magazine scene in some ways. It’s not as deep as your work but I try to aggregate major magazine news from all over the world in one place as a convenience for other magazine fans and/or magazine professionnals.
    Feel free to check it out when you get a chance: http://mags360.com
    All the best!


    • Thank you and I look forward to checking your blog more often… all the best, Samir



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.