h1

Is this the first sign of change? 3 Sub. prices for the same magazine

May 3, 2009

newsweek1newsweek2
Just before I left the country heading to the UK, I picked up a copy of Newsweek before the major reinvention takes place on the magazine pages and its business model. I was surprised to see, in the same issue that I bought at the Ole Miss Bookstore, three subscription cards with three different prices: one is offering the entire year for $15.00 (Five more dollars than last year), another is offering the entire year for $25.00 and the third is gift card offering the magazine’s entire year for $40.00.
Now call me a skeptic, but which one of these cards you will think people will send to get their one year subscription to the magazine? I am sending the $15 one and showing you the other two! On a positive note, I am glad to see Newsweek taking the lead in raising their subscription prices and hopefully setting the stage for the American magazines to start charging their readers for the content and not just depend on advertisers. Change has brought us a new president, I am sure it will bring us a new American magazine publishing model. I am keeping my fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

