h1

You, I and the Magazine Business: Promises for 2009

January 1, 2009

You continue to predict the death of print; I will continue to promote the endless innovations possible in print.

You continue to count the number of magazine dying; I will continue to count the number of magazines being born (for the record, magazines with 4 times frequency or more were born to a ratio of 20 to one… for every magazine pronounced dead in 2008, the same year saw 20 new launches).

You continue to mourn the dead advertising model that served the industry well since World War II; I will continue to celebrate those who are trying to reinvent the publishing model and those who will continue to depend on circulation to foot their bills and sustain their success.

You continue to be in the business of counting numbers; I will continue to be in the business of customers who count.

You continue to be in the business of catering to Madison Ave. and the advertising community; I will continue to be in the business of serving the reader, turned customer (Yes I know they don’t pay as much per issue, but there is a much more of them than the advertisers, and once you have the right customers, the advertisers will follow).

You continue to write about the layoffs and firings in the magazine business; I will continue to write about all the new hires and new companies flourishing.

You continue to report the failures in the magazine business and magazines trimming and slimming their pages; I will continue to write about magazine successes and magazines increasing their pages.

You continue to be in the business of giving away your content; I will continue to be in the business of monetizing content and finding ways to pay for it.

You continue to be in the business of serving audiences everywhere in all media; I will be in the business of identifying the best content, through the best medium to serve the best customer.

You continue to be in the business of giving content; I will be in the business of selling content.

You continue to use the shotgun approach in your marketing strategy; I will continue to use my laser-targeted approach.

You continue to see the cup half empty; I will continue to see the cup half full.

You continue to pretend to lead and direct the magazine industry; I will continue to serve an industry I live, love and cherish.

You continue to be an insider trenched in your ways; I will continue to be an outsider looking at all the ways.

You continue to see the light at the end of the tunnel as the train coming; I will continue to see the light.

Happy New Year and All The Best,

Samir “Mr. Magazine™” Husni

20 comments

  1. Well, fools rush in where fools have been before, but keep it up.


  2. Thanks for your positive outlook and comments. The news media continually evolves and changes at warp speed. I too believe we must find innovative ways to address these changes. From my writing perspective, the media staff cutbacks coupled with a shortage of freelance funds changes both quality and content published – – ultimately a dis-service to readers.


  3. We’ve seen what a strong web presence can bring to papers like the New York Times. Do you think multimedia could offer a similar boon to the magazine industry? Do mags need to start thinking about the modern technologies at hand (and the growing number of people in all demographics who get most of their information online) or could the web actually do more harm to magazines than good?

    I blogged recently about a Pew survey showing many journalists’ new willingness to accept the web as an ally. And I wonder if change is on the horizon for magazines.


    • The web is and should be nothing but an ally to print… the main problem is we are giving our content for free on the web and we are trying to use the same outdated print model that depends on advertising for our main source of revenue…when the ad money dries up, the customers are not used to paying for content…we have become so dependent on advertising for revenue in print and we are doing the same thing on the web…we need to reinvent our publishing and media model… I am going to dedicate most of my future efforts on innovation in print and hope to be able to start new discussions regarding the future of content in ink on paper and on pixels on a screen. I still see the cup half full.


  4. Totally agree with mr. Husni.
    >>Looking forward for upcoming discussions.


  5. Do you think internet users will ever choose to pay for online content now that they’ve had a taste of the “everything can be free” Web mantra?

    Or… do you think they should pay?

    I look forward to seeing what happens next.


    • Rima
      I think they should pay, but how is the big question now… The print media, in their rush to be on-line, did the same mistake they did when TV was first introduced. They competed rather than complemented. Now with all the content offered for free, the question is, who is going to foot the bill? Great content costs money to produce. We can’t continue to depend on a third party to foot the bill (i.e. advertising)… We need to innovate and that’s what I promise you to start working on for the rest of my professional career…
      All the best
      Samir


  6. Amen, and Happy New Year, Samir!


    • Thanks Mike and Happy New Year to you and yours…


  7. Thanks for the info, Dr. H. I know what you mean about the cost of good content. If you look at any of the more interactive features I created during my two years at NOVA, you’ll be looking at weeks of hard work performed not just by myself but by our developer and a couple of designers.

    While I’ll admit I’m skeptical of the idea that Web users would ever pay for anything they read online, I do look forward to seeing alternatives to the advertising model over the next many years.


  8. (Apologies, originally posted this in the wrong spot)

    Well. Finally someone who sees things as possibility instead of negativity! I am a freelance magazine writer and I just don’t buy that the industry is dying. I think it needs to (and is) changing, but I doubt very much that those of us who love magazines will see the day when they are no longer with us.


  9. […] have to say that there is a post that I really enjoyed on Mr. Magazine’s Blog. (And if you haven’t yet seen his site, bookmark it–it’s excellent.) The post is […]


  10. […] is The Guardian’s view, and a more upbeat Mr Magazine’s. January 6, 2009 | In Magazines | Permalink […]


  11. Mr. Magazine for President!
    well said, sir

    thank you for writing what I live.


  12. Finally someone optimistic. In these days of layoffs, reduced sales, reduced advertising and general histeria its nice to hear some words of wisdom that will keep us positive


  13. […] finally, i share the same views as mr magazine in his recent post about ‘promises for 2009′. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a […]


  14. […] finally, i share the same views as mr magazine in his recent post about ‘promises for 2009′. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a […]


  15. speaking of the web, i am consistently surprised with what an effective medium it is for new entries into the fashion world. with no other medium can one find all the innovation and creativity we love and that, in my opinion, is the heartbeat of fashion and the progression of style. i came across a site today that blew my mind along these lines for a men’s fashion product from what seems to be a small company called collar card. i dont know if anyone else shares my glee but go to http://www.collarcard.com and you can see what i mean. the bottom line is that 15 years ago, before the advent of commonplace internet, a fashion design like myself never would have come across such a product. keep it up america, innovation, and the progression of style.


  16. Mr. Husni, what a beautiful magazine manifesto and an inspiration to those like me who just can’t let go of dreams coming to life on a printed page.

    Keep up the good work.


  17. […] del CEO di 8020 Publishing. Quest’altro invece ribalta un po’ le prospettive: “You continue to predict the death of print; I will continue to promote the endless innovations possi…“. Fico. Salva o segnala il post come […]



Leave a Reply

