h1

An Answer to a 42 Year-Old Question?

July 7, 2008


“Is God Dead?” was the question on the cover of the April 8, 1966 Time magazine. My late brother Khalil was three years ahead of me in our high school, Tripoli (Lebanon) Boys School. Time was required reading for the 11th and 12th grade students at the school. When I saw his copy of the magazine I could not wait for him to finish reading it so I can read it. (I was not allowed to touch it until he is done with it). That issue and that cover left quite an impact on me back then.
Well, last week, visiting the newsstands in Memphis, I had a big flash back to 1966. I saw what looked like the cover of Time from 1966, but it was, in fact, Christianity Today (another magazine I got to know during my high school years in Lebanon thanks for a visiting pastor from America to our Presbyterian church in Tripoli). The cover of the July 2008 CT had the answer for the 42 year-old question Time magazine asked in 1966. In a similar take on Time 1966 cover (same color and design) the CT cover answered the burning question Is God Dead? CT’s answer “God Is Not Dead Yet.” Issue settled for now… but that “Yet” may make room for a more definitive answer in the future, so stay tuned…maybe for another 42 years. At least we are making progress.

One comment

  1. [...] I wish I would have thought of this magazine cover. Share this article. These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages. [...]



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,139 other followers

